Skip to content

Designer Profile: Cholo

January 5, 2011

Hi! Please introduce yourself:

I’m Cholo. I work as an Accessory designer, and a Couture Finisher here in the Philippines. ( Couture Finishing  is like the work of Lesage, we do embroideries, beadwork and couture details for fashion houses here in my part of the world : The Philippines:)

How did you discover FR Dolls?

I discovered them through  a friend who’s a full-blown doll collector. I actually just  started my collections a few months ago. I’ve always loved dolls but I couldn’t afford them; so it’s just now, at a point in my life where I m looking for another outlet for my creative juices to materialize, that FR dolls seem to be the perfect fit..

When  did you buy your first FR?

Not long ago .The first FR doll I purchased was Perk Colette, I chose her because her features resembles a lot of what  Filipina models looks like.


How many FR do you own?

So far i only have a few and  i must say  I really like seven of them. I only  purchase  girls that fits my  taste, regardless of which collection they come from.

Who is your favorite FR character?

Adele in my opinion is the best , she’s the only girl in the bunch with a real expression and personality on her face… not passive like most of them. plus she’s a woman of color. and color means lively and fierce!



What do you like the most about collecting FR?

Generally because of the face sculpt, proportions and articulation of the dolls. they’re perfect if you’re fond of doing doll fashions.

Where  do  you store them?

I store them in a cabinet that is quite  surprisingly, open to the elements. 😦

What is your photography style like?

I ve been  interested in  photography  for the longest time since it is important in my line of work, so when dolls came along my way, it was a perfect fit. photography, dolls and doll couture. I want my photographs to always look sleek and detail oriented, it should evoke emotions and movement.

Behind the scenes

my workspace

work in progress

When  did you start designing?

i started doing doll fashions as soon as i got my  first FR doll.


How did you learn to do it?

Mere self teaching. i was inclined to be resourceful with small-scale stuffs. when i was younger, since i have no toys to play with, i did dioramas of gasoline stations and buildings all by myself, simulating Lego bricks. with that attitude, i just tried figuring ways on how to do patterns and sewn everything by hand.


What inspires your work?

A lot of things. but usually a set a day when i surround myself with tear sheets from magazines, books, movies i really love, talk to very inspiring people, stories and literature… then suck it all in and compress all ideas to a pulp… and then i let it sit there for a while until i start sketching… then bit by bit i edit everything into a coherent and fashion forward look.

 

What is your work rhythm?

I only work during daylight. that’s when i am most active, and its good for the eyes since i work on really small details and the day light makes it easy on the eyes. rainy and gloomy days  are a different matter. grumpy me. LOL!

When you work on custom commissions, do your clients usually have specific requests or do they give you free hand?

It’s  a balance of both… i ask clients to give me pegs for inspiration and ill interpret it for them. but most of the time, i work at my own decisions. 🙂

Any advice to those who would like to start their own designs?:

The 3 P’s: Practice, Perseverance and Patience, listen to criticisms, and never lose the passion to do what you do. concentrate on your strengths and take advantage of that, be inspired by other’s work but never copy.

What are you working on these days and what are your future projects doll wise?

Currently my first ever doll couture line is under works, 10 couture looks inspired by Filipino artists that inspired me so much throughout the decade that ive spent in the fashion biz. these OOAK looks will be released early february for everyone in Flickr, but its going to be a first come first serve basis. (actually the money from this isn’t really for biz, it’s just to support this hobby that we all know could take a toll on the wallet haha.) and another thing, one of the looks will be solely for charity. I’ll be adopting the local orphanage here and collect and buy as many dolls as i can from that money. to be given away on my birthday 🙂

Do you collect other dolls?

I did but i am actually downsizing  all DG’s, Barbie’s and other dolls might be on sale soon to locals only. Soon my collection will only consist of Fashion Royalty Dolls.


Last question . Have you got a Flickr /Blog /website ?

Yes I do  it is : choloisms.blogspot.com – this is also my personal blog, and where my online store will be located. plus i’ ll be updating this site for more recipe’s (since i also cook) and more short stories/mini novels when i have the free time. (I am also a writer). and my Flicker username is Choloism.

Photo  credits : Choloism via flickr


Cholo ‘s creations

Thank you Cholo

K

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 3:00 pm

    Great interview of Cholo! I love your blog too!

  2. Navy permalink
    January 7, 2011 6:17 am

    Nice, in-depth and inspiring:-) Great interview

  3. frankly permalink
    August 25, 2011 3:46 pm

    Nice to know that Filipinos are in this creative field. Check out ncruz.com, and http://www.soultalk777.blogspot.com for Filipinos who do creative work with dolls too.

  4. September 3, 2011 5:43 am

    Amazing details I am loving Cholo’s dolls.. Great Job!

Trackbacks

  1. Safari couture by Cholo! « Dollrepublik

Leave a Reply

