Skip to content

Designer profile: Huckleberry Jackson

March 12, 2011

Hi Please introduce yourself

Hi, I´m Huckleberry Jackson (of course I was born with that name lol.) I live in Berlin. I grew up in Luxembourg, my mother is luxemburgish and my father portuguese. I have been studying graphic design in Luxembourg, and I studied fashion design at La Cambre in Brussels. I work mostly as freelance in fashion or wherever I´m needed (well try to make a living…).

 

How did you discover FR Dolls?

I discovered the FR Dolls only a year and a half ago. I started to collect Silkstone Barbies, and while looking for pics, I landed mostly on Flickr and discovered the magnificent FR Dolls.

When  did you buy your first FR?

….. must have been december 2009

How many FR do you own?

I own 16 FR Dolls….. (and a few on their way…)

Who is your favorite FR character?

…. must be Giselle,…. but i think this year Elise definitely took over ;)…. also love Nadja,Agnes, Lilith, Eden and Poppy very much.  I´m not a big fan of the Perrin sisters thought …

What do you like the most about collecting FR?

I love how realistic they are, and i love that they are becoming more and more  like a woman of today. But mostly it must be because of their fierce attitude, and the great posability!!! I just love it when i see a beautifull picture of a doll and i forget that it is a doll!!!

Where  do  you store them?

Well, I have a cabinet where I store them which is not far from my couch so that I can see them all the time…

What does your photography  / doll space space look like?

…Actually I photograph them in their cabinet, it is their display place, their home and their photostudio.

When  did you start designing?

I went to fashion school in 2000, and I designed on dolls already back then , because I can´t draw that well, so I used to experiment on doll size and do research on volume ect….

How did you learn to do it?

…hehe well exercise and ambition must be the most important factors

What inspires your work?

Although I get carried away very easily into the imaginary, most of the time it is the technical part of making clothes that inspire me the most. I do some outfits that go more into pure fashion styling (and I think they are the more popular ones) ,… but sometimes I get carried away and do some designes that are more architectural,…. (I always feel than that the crazy pattern maker in me takes over…)

What is your work rhythm? How do you like to work?

….. I think I work constanly, I´ve been in art school since I was 16 so my brain kinda has this rythm installed that is constantly working the creative progress.  But I find beeing creative very easy in the late hours of the day,… but when I just need to execute things I prefer working very early in the day.

When you work on custom commissions, do your clients usually have specific requests or do they give you free hand?

…. I barely ever made comissions, but I really love the exchange with my clients and it´s very important to me to please them! But I only work free hand. I love to have adivce and intrest, but in the end I first have to please myself.

Any advice to those who would like to start their own designs?

First , what  you need is a lot of ambition, and beeing able to accept making mistakes!

What are you working on these days and what are your future projects doll wise?

I´m working on a little couture collection especially tailored for the FRsquared body. I figured our new Divas with their splendid new bodies would want to have some couture for the summer. The collection will be very collorfull. For this collection I wanted to try a new technique that I haven´t been doing on dolls yet wich consists of draping chiffon in a modern way onto basic dresses and get modern couture and interesting volumes. The collection will be all ooak pieces because it´s a very free way of draping wich makes it impossible to recreate the models I´m working on, also the fabrics are very color full and with big patterns wich would make it even harder to make more than one copy of each design.

I´m also taking part in CDDC (couture doll design challenge)   http://www.couturedoll.com/ and we´ll be getting our first challenge tomorrow so I´m pretty excited about that. It´s been really long since I haven´t been working on a given theme and rules, and I´m really looking forward to it.

Do you collect other dolls?

I have a few Silkstone barbies, Blythe , petite blythe, Pullip, Dal, repro Barbies,….  but my main goal are the FR Dolls

Have you got a Flickr Blog ,website ?

yes a Flickrstream :   http://www.flickr.com/photos/huckyjackson/

Thank you Huck for this great interview, can’t wait to see your next photos and collections!

K.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 12:43 pm

    Great interview!!
    I’m looking foreward to his interpretation of the first challenge – to make couture out of ribbons… 🙂

  2. Paris W permalink
    March 17, 2011 4:49 am

    Just got to read this profile for HJ. Wow, it’s blowing me away 😀 Can’t wait to see his new collection and his entries for the CDDC!

Leave a Reply

